Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

2018 AFLW

C. Erin Phillips, Chelsea Randall

Games Won 3

Ladder Position 5

Premiership Points 14

Year two brings hot competition for the Crows


Riding the high of a premiership win in 2017, expectations were high for Adelaide in 2018. Bec Goddard remained at the helm and with league Best and Fairest Erin Phillips and Rising Star Ebony Marinoff in the midfield it was no surprise that Adelaide were favourites to go back to back.

The first game of the season was the Grand Final rematch against Brisbane, but this time at home. Co-captain Erin Phillips was a late out, having suffered a quad injury and Adelaide lost the game by two goals. Things got worse in the second round as they went down to Melbourne by 32 points in a defeat that remains the club’s largest.

The return of Phillips inspired the Crows to a run of three wins and a draw (including a hard-fought victory over eventual premiers Western Bulldogs) which put some much-needed points on the board. Right back in the running, a win in the final round could have secured another Grand Final berth, but Collingwood ran over the top of them.

The season was close fought, with one win separating Brisbane in second and Fremantle in seventh. Despite having performed well in the second half of the season, Adelaide finished in fifth position.


Chelsea Randall was a standout performer for the Crows in 2018 and was recognised for her efforts by being awarded Adelaide’s Club Champion and the captaincy of the All-Australian team. She was also the recipient of the AFLW Players’ Association Most Courageous award for the second year running.

Eloise Jones, Sarah Allan, and Anne Hatchard each received a Rising Star nomination during the course of the season.