Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

Yearly Honours & Awards

YearCoachCaptainClub ChampionLeading Goalkicker
2017Bec GoddardErin Phillips & Chelsea RandallErin PhillipsSarah Perkins (11)
2018Bec GoddardErin Phillips & Chelsea RandallChelsea RandallErin Phillips, Ruth Wallace (7)
2019Matthew ClarkeErin Phillips & Chelsea RandallErin PhillipsStevie-Lee Thompson (14)

Past Senior Coaches

Bec Goddard

Full-time Australian Federal Police officer Bec Goddard joined the Crows in 2016 to serve as the inaugural coach of the women’s team. Previously, Goddard had gained recognition for becoming the first female umpire (and later coach) in the NEAFL, being awarded the 2015 AFL Football Woman of the Year Award, and helping Woodville-West Torrens to a minor premiership as the under-18 forwards coach.

Goddard began the 2017 season alongside Fremantle’s Michelle Cowan as one of only two female coaches in the AFLW. Under her guidance, the Crows were dominant in the league and finished second on the ladder with five wins and two losses and the highest points total in the competition. Adelaide defeated the Brisbane Lions in the Grand Final to be awarded the inaugural AFLW Premiership trophy.

Goddard was unable to repeat the success in 2018 and the Crows finished fifth with a record of three wins, three losses, and a draw. Following the season, it was announced that she was returning to Canberra due to her commitments with the AFP, drawing her time at the Crows to an end.

As both the inaugural AFLW Premiership coach and the first female coach to win a premiership at the top level of Australian football, Bec Goddard will forever have a place in Australian sporting history.

All Australian

The following players have been named in the yearly AFL Women’s All-Australian team of 21 since 2017.

2017Courtney Cramey70 disposals, 16 marks, 19 tackles
2017Ebony Marinoff127 disposals, 19 marks, 76 tackles
2017Erin Phillips – Vice-captain160 disposals, 23 marks, 30 tackles, 10 goals, 27 frees for
2017Sarah Perkins67 disposals, 18 marks, 21 hit-outs, 24 tackles, 11 goals
2017Chelsea Randall113 disposals, 24 marks, 39 tackles
2018Chelsea Randall (2) – Captain114 disposals, 22 marks, 34 tackles, 18 frees for
2019Anne Hatchard170 disposals, 24 marks, 33 tackles, 3 goals
2019Ebony Marinoff (2)205 disposals, 15 marks, 74 tackles, 3 goals
2019Erin Phillips (2) – Captain193 disposals, 31 marks, 32 tackles, 11 goals, 24 frees for
2019Chelsea Randall (3) – Vice-captain122 disposals, 28 marks, 17 tackles
2019Stevie-Lee Thompson78 disposals, 17 marks, 15 tackles, 14 goals

Most selections
Chelsea Randall (three), Ebony Marinoff (two), Erin Phillips (two)

Rising Star

The following Crows have been nominated as a NAB AFL Women’s Rising Star since 2017. To be eligible for nomination, the player must be under the age of 21 on the 1st of January for that year. Ebony Marinoff is the only Crow to have won the award.

2017Ebony Marinoff1Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide)
2018Eloise Jones5Chloe Molloy (Collingwood)
2018Sarah Allan6 Chloe Molloy (Collingwood)
2018Anne Hatchard7Chloe Molloy (Collingwood)
2019Danielle Ponter4Madison Prespakis (Carlton)
2019Chloe Scheer5Madison Prespakis (Carlton)