Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

Adelaide’s first game in the inaugural 2017 season of the AFL women’s competition was headlined by a six-goal win and unforgettable for many more reasons.

A bumper crowd of 9250 watched the Crows dominate Greater Western Sydney at a wet Thebarton Oval on Saturday, February 4.

But the day was about much more than the result for all the players, as they embraced their opportunity to be pioneers for a new field of dreams in women’s elite sport.

Olympic basketballer Erin Phillips had 14 disposals and kicked 3.3 for the Crows in her first game of competitive football in 17 years, while 19-year-old midfielder Ebony Marinoff collected a game-high 20 possessions.

Rhiannon Metcalfe controlled the rucks for Adelaide and gave good service to Marinoff and co-captain Chelsea Randall (16 possessions).

“I never thought this was going to happen in my lifetime,” 31-year-old Phillips said after the game. “That was unreal … a lot of fun. The fans, the atmosphere, the energy from this group was amazing.”

Marquee signing Kellie Gibson wrote herself into Adelaide history, booting the club’s first goal with a sensational long-range effort after the Crows worked the ball out of defence and along the wing before Phillips set up Gibson.

Post-match, coach Bec Goddard thanked the crowd and said it had been an emotional week for the squad. “To have so many people come out and watch in the rain, was really special,” she said.

First game gallery

Named side

B: Sarah Allan, Talia Radan, Sally Riley
HB: Deni Varnhagen, Anne Hatchard, Stevie-Lee Thompson
C: Erin Phillips, Courtney Cramey, Chelsea Randall
HF: Ebony Marinoff, Angela Foley, Kellie Gibson
F: Jess Sedunary, Sarah Perkins, Abbey Holmes
R: Rhiannon Metcalfe
Inter: Heather Anderson, Justine Mules, Tayla Thorn, Monique Hollick, Dayna Cox, Georgia Bevan.


ADELAIDE                                       1.3        3.6       6.6       7.6 (48)
GREATER WESTERN SYDNEY      0.1       0.2       0.3       1.6 (12)

Crows goals: Phillips 3, Randall, Gibson, Varnhagen, Perkins.
Crows best: Marinoff, Randall, Phillips, Gibson, Varnhagen, Mules
Crowd: 9250 at Thebarton Oval

Adelaide’s first AFLW side:
Back row (from left): Allan, Radan, Phillips, Riley, Thompson, Cox, Hollick, Sedunary, Metcalfe, Varnhagen, Holmes, Mules, Thorn. Front row: Anderson, Perkins, Bevan, Marinoff, Randall, Cramey, Gibson, Foley, Hatchard.