Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

2020 AFLW

Games Won 2

Premiership position: 6th in Conference A (2 wins, 4 losses).
Coach: Matthew Clarke
Captains: Erin Phillips and Chelsea Randall

Adelaide was not going to win the 2020 AFLW premiership but in the end there was no premiership to be won.

The fourth season of the AFLW competition introduced four new teams – Richmond, St Kilda, West Coast and Gold Coast – and was to feature an eight-round home-and-away season followed by a finals series.

But life changed quickly after the arrival of the COVID-19 pandemic in March.

Six of the round six matches, on March 14, were played without crowds. The AFL then cut the remaining two rounds and rushed to finals but the season was abandoned on March 22 after governments moved to shut down non-essential activity and borders started closing.

No premiership was awarded.

Adelaide’s off-season was far from ideal. Erin Phillips, Chloe Scheer and Rhiannon Metcalfe were in rehab from knee reconstructions and then Hannah Martin and Chelsea Randall also tore their ACLs. Martin injured her right knee playing for NT Thunder in the VWFL but it did not stop her getting married later in 2019 (and changing her name to Hannah Button). Randall was injured at the Crows’ first pre-season training session.

Adelaide’s continued to turn over its list, with eight new players in the squad photo in 2020. Recruits included experienced Courtney Gum, who was an All Australian in 2018 while playing for GWS, and first draft pick Montana McKinnon.

Seven Crows made their AFLW debut for the club in round one, when Adelaide lost to Brisbane by 13 points. This group included Rachelle Martin, the sister of Hannah Button, added as an injury replacement player.

Adelaide won its next two games against St Kilda and Geelong but despite the return of Phillips and Metcalfe for round four, dropped the next three games. When the season was cut short, the Crows were ranked sixth in Conference A. 

Several players had positive seasons, however, with Anne Hatchard and Sarah Allan both selected in the All Australian side. Hatchard polled votes in every game to win the Crows Club Champion award and also received the Players’ Player award, as voted by teammates. Ebony Marinoff was Club Champion runner-up and Justine Mules finished third.

Season gallery

Awards and Achievements

All Australians: Sarah Allan, Anne Hatchard.

Players’ Player Award: Anne Hatchard

Leading goalkicker: Danielle Ponter

Best Defensive Player: Justine Mules

List changes

In: Montana McKinnon (South Adelaide), Najwa Allen (Canberra/Norwood), Nicole Campbell (South Adelaide), Jaimi Tabb (Woodville-West Torrens), Caitlin Gould (Glenelg), Courtney Gum (South Adelaide/GWS Giants), Madison Newman (West Adelaide), Chelsea BiddelI (West Adelaide), Rachelle Martin (West Adelaide, injury replacement).

Out: Jess Sedunary, Sally Riley, Sarah Perkins, Jenna McCormick, Jasmyn Hewett., Rheanne Lugg, Katelyn Rosenzweig. Inactive list: Hannah Button, Maisie Nankivell

First game players

Najwa Allen, v Brisbane at Hickey Park, 8/2/20 (debut order 41)

Chelsea Biddell, v Brisbane at Hickey Park, 8/2/20 (42)

Nicole Campbell, v Brisbane at Hickey Park, 8/2/20 (43)

Courtney Gum, v Brisbane at Hickey Park, 8/2/20 (44)

Rachelle Martin, v Brisbane at Hickey Park, 8/2/20 (45)

Madison Newman, v Brisbane at Hickey Park, 8/2/20 (46)

Jaimi Tabb, v Brisbane at Hickey Park, 8/2/20 (47)

Caitlin Gould, v St Kilda at Richmond Oval, 16/2/20 (48)

Montana McKinnon, v North Melbourne at North Hobart Oval, 7/3/20 (49)

Related links

Club Champion top ten
1: Anne Hatchard 67 votes
2: Ebony Marinoff 59
3: Justine Mules 52
4: Dayna Cox 38
5: Sarah Allan 37
6: Courtney Gum 37
7: Marijana Rajcic 36
8: Danielle Ponter 34
9: Renee Forth 29
10: Ange Foley 28
= Jessica Foley 28
Leading goalkickers
5: Danielle Ponter
3: Chelsea Biddell, Courtney Gum, Stevie-Lee Thompson, Eloise Jones
AFLW best and fairest medal
10 Hatchard (equal fourth)
2020 Club Champion Anne Hatchard

The 2020 squad

Back Row (L-R): Nicole Campbell (20), Courtney Gum (5), Najwa Allen (8), Deni Varnhagen (9), Sarah Allan (39), Caitlin Gould (1), Marijana Rajcic (32), Stevie-Lee Thompson (14), Madison Newman (17). Middle Row: Chloe Scheer (4), Renee Forth (27), Jaimi Tabb (28), Chelsea Biddell (12), Jessica Foley (24), Rhiannon Metcalfe (11), Montana McKinnon (21), Anne Hatchard (33), Ruth Wallace (8), Ailish Considine (16), Nikki Gore (7). Front Row: Justine Mules (23), Dayna Cox (31), Ebony Marinoff (10), Courtney Cramey (22), Chelsea Randall (26), Matthew Clarke (Senior Coach), Erin Phillips (13), Angela Foley (3), Eloise Jones (2), Danielle Ponter (15), Sophie Li (19)

2020 jumpers

The Northern Territory flag was removed from above the number after the end of the Club’s arrangement with AFLNT. The AFLW logo returned to the back and the Crows continued to wear the Indigenous guernsey in away games. As in 2018, the front AFL logo had a background colour of gold to recognise the club as reigning premiers.

The 2020 guernsey; Ebony Marinoff (10); Renee Forth, Eloise Jones and Marinoff celebrate victory; Caitlin Gould; Renee Forth (Indigenous/away).