Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker


C. Nathan van Berlo

Games Won 11

Ladder Position 10

Premiership Points 44

Crows make the move to Adelaide Oval


New beginnings were on the way as football made the move to Adelaide Oval in the CBD. Cricket was no longer the main attraction of the renovated, 53,000 capacity stadium and now the Crows and Power had a fresh battleground.

During the off-season, Eddie Betts joined the Crows from Carlton and it only took a matter of weeks for him to capture the imagination of every fan. The small forward’s goalkicking ability making Adelaide Oval the home of Eddie’s Pocket. He kicked 51 goals which was his personal best at the time after nine seasons with the Blues.

The Club suffered a serious blow with captain Nathan van Berlo sidelined for the year, recovering from surgery on an injured Achilles. Midfielders Rory Sloane and Patrick Dangerfield stepped up as co-captains in his absence.

Adelaide faced a season of inconsistency, though, and a top eight position was just out of reach for much of the year. Late wins over Port Adelaide and Collingwood briefly had the Club in finals contention before a loss to North Melbourne dented those hopes in the penultimate week of action.

The year was also important as Adelaide joined the SANFL competition, the first time the Crows had an official reserves side. All those not selected for the senior side could played alongside one another for the SANFL Crows, with Heath Younie coaching the side.


Key defender Daniel Talia starred down back and was named to the All-Australian team before winning his first Malcolm Blight Medal as Adelaide’s best player. Fellow defender Brodie Smith was also named in the All-Australian team, while Eddie Betts and Sam Jacobs made the 40-man squad.

Tough full-back Ben ‘Truck’ Rutten ended his 229 game career as one of the best big-bodied players to feature for the Crows.