Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker


Games Won 10

Ladder Position 11

Premiership position: 11th in 18-team competition (10 wins, 12 losses)
Coach: Brenton Sanderson
Captain: Nathan van Berlo

Adelaide’s 2013 season was a rollercoaster ride with, unfortunately, more lows than highs.

Indifferent form in the NAB Cup flowed into the season proper and, despite showing glimpses of their competitive and exciting best, the Crows couldn’t maintain it for long enough, often enough.

In the last AFL season at AAMI Stadium (or Football Park), the home ground advantage faded and seven losses at the venue cost the Crows dearly, starting from the opening round when Essendon won by 35 points.

Gutsy wins against North Melbourne, Geelong and the Brisbane Lions were dampened by heartbreaking defeats at the hands of Hawthorn, West Coast and Port Adelaide (twice), and a season-ending knee injury to two-time leading goalkicker Taylor Walker at the MCG added to the pain.

The round nine win over North Melbourne was arguably the highlight of the year. Adelaide, wearing a special guernsey to celebrate Indigenous Round, was five goals down early in the final quarter before staging a thrilling comeback. Jared Petrenko, a late inclusion into the side and the Crows’ only Indigenous representative on the day, kicked the winning goal with just 16 seconds remaining.

But Adelaide then lost five of the next six games, including three at home, to sink further away from the top eight.

Adelaide’s last match at AAMI Stadium was against Melbourne in Round 22 and it celebrated with a 68-point win. It was the Crows’ 280th premiership game at the venue since 1991 and the final victory lifted the Club’s record to 180 wins, 100 losses.

Due to exceptional circumstances surrounding Essendon, the Club remained in the finals race as the team jetted to Perth to play West Coast in the last round. The Crows did their bit, thumping the Eagles by 86 points. But as was the case for much of the season the stars didn’t align and Carlton snatched the remaining spot in the top eight. Adelaide finished 11th, with 10 wins and 12 losses.

Led by talented midfielder Brad Crouch and reliable defenders Luke Brown and Rory Laird, the Club’s brigade of promising young players stood tall. Crouch, Brown, Laird and Sam Kerridge, who kicked six goals in only his seventh AFL game, combined to give Adelaide a club-record four Rising Star nominations. In his debut AFL season, Crouch went on to finish runner-up in the overall award.

Developing Crows Mitch Grigg, Jarryd Lyons, Lewis Johnston and Kyle Hartigan also showed promise, while inexperienced forwards Tom Lynch, who topped the Club’s goalkicking, and Josh Jenkins provided strong targets in Walker’s absence. Lynch’s season tally of 33 goals included a bag of ten goals against the Giants in Sydney.

Much-admired midfielder Rory Sloane continued his rise to ‘elite’ status in the AFL, claiming the Crows Club Champion award. He backed up a breakout 2012 season with another brilliant year. The reliable midfielder polled a total of 71 votes to narrowly edge out runner-up Richard Douglas, who finished on 68 votes. Patrick Dangerfield and Daniel Talia tied for third place.

The Adelaide members agreed with the coaches’ assessment, also selecting Sloane as the winner of the 19th Man Award for Most Valuable Player. Douglas was also recognised with the Crows Best Team Man Award.

Dangerfield overcame injury to receive a second straight All-Australian crown, while Douglas was selected in the squad of 40.

The Club farewelled favourite son Graham Johncock. Fittingly, Johncock, who retired after 227 games, said goodbye to the Crows faithful with a lap of honour ahead of the last game at AAMI Stadium.

Awards and Achievements

All Australian: Patrick Dangerfield

Best Team Man: Richard Douglas

Mark Bickley Award: Luke Brown

19th Man Award: Rory Sloane 

Leading goalkicker: Tom Lynch

Emerging Talent: Brad Crouch

Club Coach’s Award: Andy Otten

Dr Brian Sando Award: Daniel Talia  

AFC Life Membership: Graham Cornes OAM, Vince Del Bono.

Other news

  • Long-serving Adelaide Crows Board director and chairman, Bob Campbell, died on May 25. He was 81. Campbell, was elected to the Board for Adelaide’s first season (1991) and was chairman in the 2002-03 seasons. He received Crows Life Membership in 2000.
  • Ben Rutten played his 200th AFL game in round six to be the 12th Crow to reach the milestone. And then Scott Thompson played his 200th Crows AFL game in round 17.
  • Port Adelaide won both Showdowns by single figure margins to leave the Power with bragging rights.
  • Strategy and innovation coach Dean Bailey was banned for 16 weeks by the AFL for his involvement as senior coach in Melbourne’s 2009 performance investigation.
  • Cam Ellis-Yolmen represented Australia (a squad of Indigenous players) in the 2013 International Series in Ireland.

List changes

In: Angus Graham (Richmond), Rory Atkins (Calder U18), Sam Siggins (Lauderdale), Kyle Hartigan (rookie, Werribee), Jack Osborn (rookie, basketball), Tim Klaosen (rookie, basketball).

Out: Michael Doughty (retired), Chris Knights (Richmond), Kurt Tippett (Sydney), Brad Symes, James Craig, Will Young, Sam Martyn.

First game players

Brad Crouch, v Brisbane at the Gabba, 6/4/13 (Player debut order 192)

Rory Laird, v Western Bulldogs at AAMI Stadium, 21/4/13 (193)

Mitch Grigg, v Geelong at AAMI Stadium, 21/7/13 (194)

Kyle Hartigan, v Fremantle at Subiaco, 27/7/13 (195)

Related links

Club Champion top dozen
1: Rory Sloane 71 votes
2: Richard Douglas 68
3: Patrick Dangerfield 60
= Daniel Talia 60
5: Andy Otten 51
6: Luke Brown 47
7: Scott Thompson 45
8: Ben Rutten 41
9: Tom Lynch 40
10: Brad Crouch 39
11: Sam Jacobs 36
12: Brodie Smith 35
(Coaching group allocated votes from 0-8 for each player)
Leading goalkickers
33 Tom Lynch
31 Patrick Dangerfield
24 Josh Jenkins
20 Richard Douglas
15 Andy Otten
13 Bernie Vince
13 Jason Porplyzia
13 Sam Kerridge
Brownlow Medal votes
22 Dangerfield
15 Sloane
9 S. Thompson
6 B. Crouch
3 Lynch
3 Douglas
3 Henderson
2 Kerridge, Johnston

Club Champion Rory Sloane

Life Members

The 2013 squad

Back row (from left): Richard Tambling (1), Matthew Jaensch (10), Rick Henderson (45), Sam Shaw (34), Lewis Johnston (8), Taylor Walker (13), Tom Lynch (27), Andy Otten (22), Brodie Smith (33), Jarryd Lyons (31), Brodie Martin (36), Matthew Wright (11). Third row: Jared Petrenko (23), Sam Kerridge (29), Daniel Talia (12), Josh Jenkins (4), Ben Dowdell (rookie, 44)), Jack Osborn (rookie, 30)), Sam Jacobs (24), Angus Graham (15), Shaun McKernan (35), Kyle Hartigan (rookie, 41), Luke Thompson (6), Dylan Orval (rookie, 48), Aidan Riley (43). Second row: Ian Callinan (37), Bernie Vince (17), Graham Johncock (18), Jason Porplyzia (40), Rory Sloane (9), Scott Thompson (5), Brenton Sanderson (senior coach), Nathan van Berlo (captain, 7), Patrick Dangerfield (32), Ben Rutten (25), Brent Reilly (3), Davd Mackay (14), Richard Douglas (26). Front row: Nick Joyce (42), Luke Brown (16), Brad Crouch (2), Rory Laird (rookie, 46)), Rory Atkins (21), Mitch Grigg (38), Sam Siggins (20), Tim McIntyre (rookie, 49), Tim Klaosen (rookie, 39), Cam Ellis-Yolmen (28).

2013 Jumpers

Puma was the new supplier in 2013, with a new template. It was the first season the Crows logo was watermarked across the main jumper. There was also a new away jumper, with the “Murder of Crows” design on the front representing flocks of Crows members and supporters flying together to support the team. Adelaide also wore its first Indigenous Round guernsey, with black replacing the navy blue parts of the home jumper against North Melbourne in round nine.

Scott Thompson and Andy Otten in the 2013 home jumper; Crows logo watermark; the new 2013 away front and Tom Lynch; the Indigenous Round jumper, and Jared Petrenko.