Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker


C. Mark Bickley

Games Won 8

Ladder Position 13

Premiership Points 32

No miracles in back-to-back premiership defence


As back-to-back premiers, Adelaide was undeniably the team to beat. Coach Malcolm Blight never expected the season to be easy and a 13-point loss to the Western Bulldogs in the opening game – at home – perhaps set the tone. When the Crows defeated Port Adelaide by 28 points to be 4-2, the Club was well placed for a tilt at the top.

Adelaide’s season hit a dead stop after a five-game losing streak and with just four wins in the final 16 games there was no chance of a premiership defence. While it may not have provided much solace, Adelaide defeated Hawthorn and St Kilda twice in 1999, the pairing finished in ninth and 10th respectively, one win outside of the eight. In a bottom four season, losses to Brisbane, Port Adelaide, North Melbourne and Sydney rounded out the season.


Named All-Australian for the third time, Ben Hart claimed his first Club Champion Award in defence. He was the lone All-Australian from the Club that season.

Blight retired as coach at the end of the campaign, having led Adelaide to the only two AFL premierships in Club history. He finished with a 41-33 win-loss record in charge and in years to come the Club Champion Award would be named after him. Inaugural squad members Rod Jameson, Matthew Liptak, David Pittman and Simon Tregenza retired.