Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker


C. Mark Bickley

Games Won 9

Ladder Position 11

Premiership Points 36

Adelaide up-and-down as finals stay out of reach


It was a tough start to the season and a 114-point loss to West Coast put Adelaide into 16th place at 0-5. Good fortunes fell in Adelaide’s favour as the Crows quickly moved up the ladder with three wins, including Showdown success over Port.

Adelaide struggled to break out of the bottom four during the first half of the season before a sudden surge had the Crows in the eight at 7-7. Wins over Fremantle, Sydney and Hawthorn were the highlights of a rosy patch of form which unfortunately didn’t last long.

Losing the last three games, Adelaide finished 12 points adrift of eighth position, with losses to top eight sides Hawthorn and Brisbane the knockout blows.


23-year-old Simon Goodwin won the Club’s best and fairest ahead of fellow All-Australians Andrew McLeod and Mark Ricciuto, two of the elite players at the time.

Although he played on for another three seasons, 2000 was Mark Bickley’s last as captain. He handed the mantle over to Ricciuto. Meanwhile defender Peter Caven retired after 82 games for the Club, including two premierships. Caven was named in the AFC Team of the Decade.