Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker


C. Nathan van Berlo

Games Won 7

Ladder Position 14

Premiership Points 28

A difficult season as Neil Craig resigns


A raft of retirements in 2010 caught up with the Club as poor form saw a slump to 14th on the ladder and an end to Neil Craig’s tenure.

The season began with Adelaide defeating Hawthorn by 20 points in the first round. Over the next six games, the Crows won just twice and there was a sense of teetering on the edge of a comeback, or a fall.

Adelaide continued to drop in a six-game slump and after a disappointing 103-point loss to St Kilda, Craig resigned. After 166 games in charge, the most in Club history, he finished with 92 wins and 74 losses.

Former player Mark Bickley took over as interim coach in the same week as a Showdown. Bickley enjoyed a successful start with a 32-point win against Port Adelaide and there was some optimism as the Crows won three of its final six games.


Nathan van Berlo was named captain prior to the season while fellow fan favourite Scott Thompson won his first Club Champion Award. Utility Scott Stevens retired after 119 games.