Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker


C. Mark Ricciuto

Games Won 16

Ladder Position 2

Premiership Points 64

High flying Crows lead the way


Adelaide started in fine form, going 6-1 with wins over top eight sides Fremantle, Collingwood, Western Bulldogs and Melbourne. The loss was at the hands of West Coast, that season’s eventual premiers.

The good form kept on coming with a sizzling eight-game win-streak lifting Adelaide to first place with 14 wins from 16 games. At that stage, the Eagles were eight points behind the Crows.

They proved to be the strongest finisher and dropped just one of their last six games while Adelaide scrambled home with two wins, seeing the pair swap ladder positions.

Fremantle travelled to Adelaide for the first week of finals and the Dockers were brushed aside by 30-points. With a week off, the Crows would have hoped for a strong preliminary final outcome but after Sydney upset West Coast the minor premiers flew into town.

West Coast had won both meetings already in 2006, including the Round 17 clash by 82 points. Adelaide held them scoreless in the first term this time round to lead by 22 points at half-time. With a quarter to play, the margin was eight points and the Crows couldn’t hold on, West Coast surging home as 10-point winners. In the Grand Final, they gained revenge on Sydney in a classic one-point victory.


Club Champion Simon Goodwin was one of three Crows named to a strong All-Australian team. Andrew McLeod and Nathan Bassett joined him with Bassett playing one of the best seasons of his career.

Veterans Matthew Clarke and Ben Hart retired, with Hart at that stage the Club’s leader in games played with 311. He was a two-time Club Champion and four-time All-Australian.