Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

The following Crows have been nominated for the NAB AFL Rising Star Award since its inception in 1993. Daniel Talia is the only Adelaide player to win the award, with four other players finishing as runner-up.

1993Mark Ricciuto16Nathan Buckley (Brisbane)
1994 Matthew Kluzek 17 Chris Scott (Brisbane)
1994Sean Wellman23Chris Scott (Brisbane)
1995 Martin McKinnon 3 Nick Holland (Hawthorn)
1995Andrew McLeod20 Nick Holland (Hawthorn)
1997 Kane Johnson 12 Michael Wilson (Port Adelaide)
1997Peter Vardy15Michael Wilson (Port Adelaide)
1998Andrew Eccles19Byron Pickett (North Melbourne)
1999 David Gallagher 6 Adam Goodes (Sydney)
Brett Burton – Runner-up
1999Brett Burton10Adam Goodes (Sydney)
Brett Burton – Runner-up
2000Ian Perrie12Paul Hasleby (Fremantle)
2004Brent Reilly16Jared Rivers (Melbourne)
2008Kurt Tippett8Rhys Palmer (Fremantle)
2009 Patrick Dangerfield 3Daniel Rich (Brisbane)
Andy Otten – Runner-up
2009 Andy Otten 9Daniel Rich (Brisbane)
Andy Otten – Runner-up
2009Taylor Walker10Daniel Rich (Brisbane)
Andy Otten – Runner-up
2010Phil Davis16Dan Hannebery (Sydney)
2012 Daniel Talia 12Daniel Talia (Adelaide)
2012Sam Shaw21Daniel Talia (Adelaide)
2013 Sam Kerridge 9Jaeger O’Meara (Gold Coast)
Brad Crouch – Runner-up
2013 Brad Crouch 14Jaeger O’Meara (Gold Coast)
Brad Crouch – Runner-up
2013 Rory Laird 20Jaeger O’Meara (Gold Coast)
Brad Crouch – Runner-up
2013Luke Brown23Jaeger O’Meara (Gold Coast)
Brad Crouch – Runner-up
2014Matt Crouch5Lewis Taylor (Brisbane)
2015 Charlie Cameron 13Jesse Hogan (Melbourne)
2015Jake Lever17Jesse Hogan (Melbourne)
2017Wayne Milera Junior10Andrew McGrath (Essendon)
2018Tom Doedee2Jaidyn Stephenson (Collingwood)
Tom Doedee – Runner-up
2020Lachlan Sholl18Caleb Serong (Fremantle)
2021Lachlan Sholl4Luke Jackson (Melbourne)
2021Riley Thilthorpe13Luke Jackson (Melbourne)
2021Harry Schoenberg19Luke Jackson (Melbourne)
2022Joshua Rachele4Nick Daicos (Collingwood)
2023Max Michalanney5Harry Sheezel (North Melbourne)
2023Luke Pedlar17Harry Sheezel (North Melbourne)
2012 NAB AFL Rising Star winner Daniel Talia of the Adelaide Crows at the 2012 NAB Rising Star Awards at the Crown Palladium, Melbourne.

To be eligible for the AFL Rising Star Award, nominated players must be under the age of 21 at January 1 of a particular year and have played no more than 10 AFL games to the start of that season.

They must not have been suspended by the AFL or State League tribunals during the season (as with the Brownlow Medal, players found guilty of certain offences and fined or reprimanded by the Tribunal remain eligible to win the award).

In 2007, the AFL Rising Star Award was named in memory of former AFL Commission Chairman Ron Evans and the winner receives the Ron Evans Medal.