Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

Follow the timeline and tables below for information about the Adelaide Football Club players who played at representative level in State-of-Origin, International Series games and for Indigenous All-Stars.


Crows captain Chris McDermott was joined by Bruce Abernethy, Grantley Fielke, Tony McGuinness, Rodney Maynard, Mark Mickan, Darren Smith and Simon Tregenza in South Australia’s team for the midweek State-of-Origin game against Victoria at Football Park. Victoria won by 16 points and Maynard kicked four goals. John Klug played for Tasmania against Victoria.


McDermott, Mark Bickley, Maynard, Tony Modra, David Pittman, Adam Saliba and Nigel Smart played for South Australia’s State-of-Origin side when it defeated Victoria by 13 points at Football Park. Crows coach Graham Cornes was back in charge.


Coach Cornes selected McDermott (captain), Greg Anderson, A. Jarman, Bickley, Modra, Smart, Matthew Robran, McGuinness, Pittman and Ben Hart in South Australia’s State-of-Origin sides against WA and Victoria. SA defeated WA by 36 points at Football Park with Anderson winning the Fos Williams Medal and Modra booting five goals. SA then won the carnival final against Victoria by 12 points at the MCG to be ‘Champions of Australia’. It was SA’s first win at the MCG since 1963.


South Australia celebrated Football Park’s 20th birthday with a thrilling two-point State-of-Origin win over Victoria. Crows McDermott (captain), A Jarman, Modra, Smart, Hart, Anderson, Jameson, Rehn, Ricciuto and Tregenza represented SA. The team was coached by Graham Cornes, who led SA to its sixth win against Victoria from six games as coach. Andrew Jarman won the Fos Williams Medal as SA’s best. Modra kicked six and Ricicuto was aged only 18 on debut. 


Crows Andrew Jarman, Smart, McDermott (captain), Tregenza, Pittman, Wellman, McKinnon, Bickley, Ricciuto and Hart represented South Australia against Victoria at the MCG. Tregenza won the Fos Williams Medal as SA’s best player in the 63-point loss. Matt Connell represented Western Australia against the Allies.


Crows Andrew Jarman, Bickley, Hart, Liptak, Modra, Ricciuto, Robran and Smart represented South Australia in the 35-point State-of-Origin win against Western Australia at Football Park. Modra kicked eight goals to win the Fos Williams Medal as SA’s best player. Crows 1995 Club Champion Connell represented WA.


Darren Jarman, Modra, Pittman, Mark Bickley, Ricciuto, Ben Hart represented South Australia in the State-of-Origin game against Victoria at Football Park. Modra kicked four goals but Victoria won by eight points. Andrew McLeod played for the Allies in their eight-point win against Western Australia.


Adelaide’s State-of-Origin representatives in 1998 were Bickley, Simon Goodwin, Robran, Hart, Brett James, Jarman, Rehn (captain) and Smart. Robran kicked five goals in South Australia’s six-goal win over Western Australia at Football Park. It was the first State-of-Origin game for Goodwin and James. After an eight-year absence, International matches between Australia and Ireland resumed and Crows Hart, Ricciuto and Smart were included in the touring party.


Crows Tyson Edwards, Hart, James, Pittman, Ricciuto, Robran and Smart represented South Australia in its last State-of-Origin game. SA, coached by Graham Cornes, lost to Victoria by 54 points in the rain at the MCG. Hart, Ricciuto, Rehn and Smart also represented Australia against Ireland in the International Rules series in Australia.


The AFL organised an Australian Football Hall of Fame Tribute match between Victoria and a “Dream Team” of players from all other States and territories. Adelaide was represented in the Dream Team by Graham Johncock, Ben Rutten, McLeod (captain), Goodwin, Brett Burton and Nathan Bock. A Saturday night crowd of 69,294 at the MCG watched Victoria win by 17 points.


Five months after Adelaide won the inaugural AFLW premiership, Chelsea Randall, Ebony Marinoff, Jess Sedunary, Courtney Cramey and Steve-Lee Thompson represented the Allies against Victoria in a State-of-Origin women’s exhibition game at Docklands Stadium. The Allies were coached by Crows leader Bec Goddard and Crows forward Sarah Perkins played for Victoria, which won by 97 points after kicking the last 13 goals of the match.


The AFL arranged a State-of-Origin match between Victoria and All Stars teams as a bushfire relief fundraiser on February 28. Rory Sloane represented Victoria and Taylor Walker, Brodie Smith and Rory Laird played for the Allies. Victoria won by 46 points at Marvel Stadium after trailing by nine points at the last break.

International Series, Australia v Ireland

1998Hart, Ricciuto, Smart
1999Hart, Rehn, Smart, Ricciuto
2000McLeod, Ricciuto
2001Goodwin, McLeod
2002Bickley, Edwards
2005McLeod (captain), Jim Stynes Medallist
2008 Bock, Scott Thompson
2010Patrick Dangerfield
2011Richard Douglas, Bernie Vince
2013Cam Ellis-Yolmen (Indigenous All Stars team)
2014Dangerfield, Smith
2015Betts, Dangerfield
2017Betts, Laird, Sloane

Indigenous All-Stars

1994 v CollingwoodShane Tongerie
2003 v CarltonAndrew McLeod
2005 v Western BulldogsMcLeod
2007 v EssendonMcLeod (captain), Graham Johncock
2009 v AdelaideMcLeod (captain), Johncock, Jarrhan Jacky, Jared Petrenko, Jonathon Griffin
2013 v RichmondJohncock, Petrenko, Ellis-Yolmen
2015 v West CoastEllis-Yolmen