Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

Adelaide won its second AFLW premiership in front of a record crowd for a women’s game of Australian football of 53,034 at Adelaide Oval.

But the resounding 45-point victory over Carlton in the AFLW Grand Final on March 31, 2019, was tinged with sadness after serious knee injuries to Adelaide superstar Erin Phillips and promising teenage forward Chloe Scheer.

The Crows lived up to their favourites’ tag, demolishing the Blues, 10.3 (63) to 2.6 (18).

After a one-point loss to the Western Bulldogs in round one, the Crows produced an eight-game winning streak under first-year coach Matthew Clarke to secure their second flag in three years.

Phillips was best on ground before tearing the ACL in her left knee in the third quarter, the crowd going silent while she was being treated before giving the 2017 AFLW best and fairest a rousing ovation as she left the ground.

Carlton booted the opening goal of the decider but it was a rare highlight for the Blues, with the Crows kicking the next nine goals of the game to have the match under control by half-time.

Anne Hatchard and Ebony Marinoff dominated the midfield, Eloise Jones was lively in attack and 19-year-old Danielle Ponter kicked three goals.

Marinoff recovered from a slow start and a heavy Jess Edwards tag to finish with 19 disposals and seven tackles, while Hatchard (24 disposals, one goal) was one vote off winning the best-on-ground award.

The third term injury to Phillips took some spark from the rest of the game, with both teams only kicking a behind in the last quarter.

Phillips (18 disposals, two goals) claimed a second Grand Final best on ground award and was helped to the stage by co-captain Chelsea Randall and Marinoff. The two captains lifted the trophy together, their second as a partnership and the second in three years for Adelaide’s AFLW team.

“To play in front of this crowd means so much to us, and is amazing for women’s footy,” said Phillips, one of 12 Crows to win a second premiership medal.

ADELAIDE                   3.0        9.2       10.2     10.3 (63)
CARLTON                    1.3       2.4       2.5       2.6 (18)

Goals: Ponter 3, Phillips 2, Hatchard, Considine, Martin, Thompson, Jones
Best: Phillips, Hatchard, Jones, Randall, Allan, Marinoff, J. Foley

Official crowd: 53,034 at Adelaide Oval

The premiership team

B: Dayna Cox, Sarah Allan, Justine Mules
HB: Marijana Rajcic, Chelsea Randall (C), Angela Foley
C: Erin Phillips (C)
HF: Danielle Ponter, Chloe Scheer, Courtney Cramey
F: Eloise Jones, Stevie-Lee Thompson, Deni Varnhagen
R: Jessica Foley, Anne Hatchard, Ebony Marinoff
Int: Hannah Button, Renee Forth, Sophie Li, Ailish Considine, Jenna McCormick

Coach: Matthew Clarke

Adelaide Crows players celebrate the 2019 AFLW grand final win at Adelaide Oval