Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

Dr Brian Sando celebrates the 1997 AFL premiership win

This award was established in 2012 in memory of inaugural Crows Club doctor and Life Member Dr Brian Sando OAM.

It recognises outstanding and professional attention to detail in the preparation for being an AFL footballer.

Dr Sando had a long and distinguished career in sports medicine including medical officer and chief medical officer to the Australian Olympic Team for six Olympics, and longtime head doctor for the Norwood Football Club and SANFL State teams. When the Crows were established in 1990 there was no debate as to who should be appointed as the inaugural Chief Medical Officer. Dr Sando retired in 2009 and died in August 2012 after a two-year battle with cancer. He was 76. A memorial service was held in in the Adelaide Football Club’s facility, on the Shed floor.

Brian, forever the consummate professional, was also the epitome of a team player and it was of no surprise when the Adelaide Football Club created a perpetual trophy named in his honour.

Defender Daniel Talia won the first two awards and Andrew McPherson won his second award in 2023.

The Recipients