Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker


C. Tony McGuinness

Games Won 8

Ladder Position 12

Premiership Points 32

Promising start fades as Crows drop down the ladder


A year that started with promise ended with Adelaide avoiding the dreaded bottom four as several inaugural players retired from the game.

Adelaide burst out of the blocks at 4-0 to lead the League, and even at 6-2, sat in second place. Those early wins included eventual minor premiers Sydney and top eight sides Essendon and Geelong. Unfortunately, the early good form faded into five straight losses, sending Adelaide into ninth place after Round 13.

Brisbane and Fitzroy were the only teams Adelaide enjoyed success against for the rest of the season as five losses rounded out the year. In 12th, the Crows finished one win ahead of Fremantle and Melbourne.


Darren Jarman enjoyed a successful first season in Adelaide after moving from Hawthorn, named All-Australian after his 46 goals. The season was the last for his brother Andrew who retired alongside Greg Anderson, and former captains Chris McDermott and Tony McGuinness.

Small forward Matthew Liptak enjoyed his best season with the Crows, winning the Club Champion Award.