Skip to main content
Main content

Adelaide Football Club - Crows History Locker

AFLW Timeline

Est. 2017


Adelaide entered the AFLW as one of the eight founding clubs and immediately made their mark. Led by the formidable trio of coach Bec Goddard, Olympic basketballer Erin Phillips, and veteran defender Chelsea Randall, the Crows were dominant in the first AFLW season. A hard-fought win over Brisbane in the Grand Final saw them crowned the inaugural premiers.


The quality of play increased across the board in 2018. Adelaide found themselves in a hotly-contested battle at the middle of the table after injuries sidelined several key players early in the season. A strong run of three wins and a draw from four games to finish the season wasn’t enough to secure a Grand Final berth. Premiership coach Bec Goddard departed the club at the end of the season.


Adelaide were the dominant side in the 2019 AFLW season. A round one loss to reigning premiers Western Bulldogs was a less-than-ideal start for new coach Matthew Clarke, but eight straight wins ending in a 45-point thumping of Carlton in the Grand Final gave the Crows their second premiership in three years.